Best Books of 2015


 

Every December I share my favorite books of the year on this blog. I read so many fantastic books this year, but here is my list of the Best Books of 2015. Descriptions provided are from excerpts from the publishers and professional reviews.

Best Books of 2015The Best of 2015

Read Bottom Up by Neel Shah and Skye Chatham
A brand-new kind of modern romantic comedy, in format, in content, and even in creation--the authors exchanged e-mails in real time, blind to each other's side conversations.

A Window Opens by Elisabeth Egan 
Recommended for fans of I Don't Know How She Does It, Where'd You Go Bernadette, and The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry

Royal Wedding by Meg Cabot 
In the first adult installment of the Princess Diaries series, Mia and longtime boyfriend Michael plan their fairy tale wedding, while a scheming politico is trying to force Mias father from the throne because of a royal secret.

Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella
Fourteen-year-old Audrey is making slow but steady progress dealing with her anxiety disorder when Linus comes into the picture and her recovery gains momentum.

Career of Evil by Robert Galbraith 
When a mysterious package is delivered to Robin Ellacott, she is horrified to discover that it contains a woman's severed leg. Her boss, private detective Cormoran Strike, is less surprised but no less alarmed. There are four people from his past who he thinks could be responsible--and Strike knows that any one of them is capable of sustained and unspeakable brutality.

Infinite in Between by Carolyn Mackler
Five students who meet in freshman orientation agree to write notes to their future selves and promise to reunite in exactly four years when they are ready to graduate from high school.

Luckiest Girl Alive by Jessica Knoll 
In a riveting debut novel that reads like Prep meets Gone Girl, a young woman is determined to create the perfect life--husband, home, and career--until a violent incident from her past threatens to unravel everything and expose her most shocking secret of all.

The Royal We by Heather Cocks and Jessica Morgan 
In their first adult novel, authors Heather Cocks and Jessica Morgan take on a story of romance and rivalries inspired by today's most talked-about royal couple: Will and Kate.

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven 
The journey to, through, and past tragedy is romantic and heartbreaking, as characters and readers confront darkness, joy, and the possibilities—and limits—of love in the face of mental illness.

The Truth According to Us by Annie Barrows 
Annie Barrows once again evokes the charm and eccentricity of a small town filled with extraordinary characters. Her new novel, The Truth According to Us, brings to life an inquisitive young girl, her beloved aunt, and the alluring visitor who changes the course of their destiny forever.

The Honorable Mentions

These didn’t quite make my top ten, but here are a few honorable mentions of 2015:

The Marvels by Brian Selznick
In 1766, a boy, Billy Marvel, is shipwrecked, rescued, and goes on to found a brilliant family of actors that flourishes in London until 1900--and nearly a century later, Joseph Jervis, runs away from home, seeking refuge with his uncle in London, and is captivated by the Marvel house, with its portraits and ghostly presences.

Maybe in Another Life by Taylor Jenkins Reid 
From the acclaimed author of Forever, Interrupted and After I Do comes a breathtaking new novel about a young woman whose fate hinges on the choice she makes after bumping into an old flame; in alternating chapters, we see two possible scenarios unfold—with stunningly different results.

I Was Here by Gayle Forman
In an attempt to understand why her best friend committed suicide, eighteen-year-old Cody Reynolds retraces her dead friend's footsteps and makes some startling discoveries.

Sunny Side Up by Jennifer Holm
From the groundbreaking and award-winning sister-brother team behind Babymouse comes a middle-grade, graphic-novel memoir. Following the lives of kids whose older brother's delinquent behavior has thrown their family into chaos, 'Sunny Side Up' is at once a compelling 'problem' story and a love letter to the comic books that help the protagonist make sense of her world

And a Few More

I also read a bunch of books this year that I’ve been meaning to read for a while, so I’d like to share them with you as well. If you’ve had any of these at the bottom of your To Be Read pile, I suggest you move them closer to the top! Here is my list of the Best “Old” Books I Read in 2015:

Night Road by Kristen Hannah 
From the groundbreaking and award-winning sister-brother team behind Babymouse comes a middle-grade, graphic-novel memoir. Following the lives of kids whose older brother's delinquent behavior has thrown their family into chaos, 'Sunny Side Up' is at once a compelling 'problem' story and a love letter to the comic books that help the protagonist make sense of her world

Liesl and Po by Lauren Oliver
A mix-up involving the greatest magic in the world has tremendous consequences for Liesl, an orphan who has been locked in an attic, Will, an alchemist's runaway apprentice, and Po, a ghost, as they are pursued by friend and foe while making an important journey.

The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh 
The story of a woman whose gift for flowers helps her change the lives of others even as she struggles to overcome her own past

Shotgun Lovesongs by Nickolas Butler
Hank, Leland, Kip and Ronny were all born and raised in the same Wisconsin town--Little Wing--and are now coming into their own (or not) as husbands and fathers. One of them never left, still farming the family's land that's been tilled for generations. Others did leave, went farther afield to make good, with varying degrees of success; as a rock star, commodities trader, rodeo stud. And seamlessly woven into their patchwork is Beth, whose presence among them--both then and now--fuels the kind of passion one comes to expect of lovesongs and rivalries. Now all four are home, in hopes of finding what could be real purchase in the world.

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han
Lara Jean writes love letters to all the boys she has loved and then hides them in a hatbox until one day those letters are accidentally sent

The Divorce Papers by Susan Rieger
The story of a high-profile, messy divorce, and the endearingly cynical young lawyer dragooned into handling it, told solely via personal correspondence, office memos, emails, articles, and legal papers

The Infinite Moment of Us by Lauren Myracle 
As high school graduation nears, Wren Gray is surprised to connect with gentle Charlie Parker, a boy with a troubled past who has loved her for years, while she considers displeasing her parents for the first time and changing the plans for her future.

Glaciers by Alexis M. Smith 
Isabel is a single, twentysomething thrift-store shopper and collector of remnants, things cast off or left behind by others. "Glaciers" follows Isabel through a day in her life in which work with damaged books in the basement of a library, unrequited love for the former soldier who fixes her computer, and dreams of the perfect vintage dress move over a backdrop of deteriorating urban architecture and the imminent loss of the glaciers she knew as a young girl in Alaska.

Collateral by Ellen Hopkins
The gripping story of a woman torn between love for her boyfriend, a dedicated Marine deployed to Afghanistan, and the resentment she has for the war that is tearing their lives apart.

 

Author Bio:

Stephanie S is the Senior Librarian at the Brisbane Library. She is particularly excited about these books coming to a library near you in 2016 — First Comes Love by Emily Giffin, Something New: Tales from a Makeshift Bride by Lucy Knisley, Eligible: A Modern Retelling of Pride and Prejudice by Curtis Sittenfeld, Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys, Losing the Light by Andrea Dunlop, and Everybody’s Fool by Richard Russo!


Sign In